Spring Fling, Day 1

Icelandic poppies at CBG

The first day of Spring Fling had a couple of glitches (including my forgetting my camera), but it was otherwise a fine day. I met all sorts of interesting people whose name I may not remember and saw some amazing things at the Chicago Botanic Garden. Above is a field of Icelandic poppies near the walled English garden, taken with my phone.

CBG Japanese garden 2

I’m a big fan of Japanese garden design, particularly the concept of making a space look much larger than it actually is (very key for a small yard like mine).

CBG Japanese garden

The irises near the zigzag bridge are much more stunning than my phone’s camera reveals.  And I think I want to go live in the Shoin building.

Thank you, CBG, for hosting us and thank you, Spring Fling bloggers, for venturing through the streets at rush hour to take the train up there! Tomorrow’s bus ride should involve a lot less schlepping.

8 responses to this post.

  1. I can’t believe you got such great pix with your phone! Those poppies have to be one of the most stunning floral displays I’ve ever seen. Had a great time in Chicago meeting you and the other bloggers. Your team did a fabulous job!

    Reply

  2. Ok, you get pics that good on the iPhone? I’m going to have to rob a bank so I can get one of those phones. Your pics are really cool.

    Reply

  3. The Botanic Garden was amazing; my only regret is that we didn’t leave with the early group to have more time to view it. My friend Beckie and I are already talking about making a special trip this summer to give it the time it deserves. Those poppies are probably going to show up on everyone’s post; weren’t they impressive?!

    Thank you for all your hard work in organizing this; it was a weekend I will long remember. And thank you for your patience in putting up with some cranky walkers who aren’t used to walking a mile to see a garden:) It was great to meet you!

    Reply

  4. Posted by lakechicagoshores on June 1, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    The iPhone (at least my old old version of it) does pretty nice landscape shots, amazingly enough. I have a great picture of tulips along the Chicago river that I took with it.

    It was great meeting everyone! Once I’m done catching up with work, I’m going to visit everyone’s blog to see their comments and pictures taken with real cameras.

    Reply

  5. Your photos are fantastic! Thank you for all you did to make this weekend wonderful~~what a delightful city, one of my favorites, gail

    Reply

  6. Posted by lakechicagoshores on June 1, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    And thank you (and everyone else) for visiting and giving us Chicagoans a reason to visit our local gardens!

    Reply

  7. I agree with the others—what great pics with your phone! The CBG is stunning, and the poppies were like a dream. It was a pleasure to meet you, and thanks for hosting us!

    Reply

  8. Great shots with your iPhone! It’s been a pleasure working with you on SF – thank you for everything you did helping with organizing and execution. Your contributions were invaluable.

    Reply

Leave a comment