Going Big

Dark pink double peony

Over at May Dreams Gardens, I commented that while Indianapolis may have big flowers in May, here in Chicago we don’t go big until June.  One week later, I’m eating my words:  the warm weather brought out some serious flowers (and hungry goldfish).

White single peony

Pale pink double peony

I don’t recall seeing peonies blooming here in May before, and it’s not even Memorial Day weekend!

Passalong yellow irises

Wild irises

Both the pass-along yellow irises and the native blue flag irises popped out this weekend.  These are the first blooms ever for the nearly 2-year-old pass-alongs:  last year was too cool and damp for them to ever bud.

Blue false indigo

The blue false indigo continues to be amazing.

8 responses to this post.

  1. I don’t suppose you know the name of that yellow iris? I would love to find that! GORGEOUS!

    Your peonies are pretty, too. They’re one of my favorite flowers ever. Everything is a couple of weeks early here, too.

    Reply

    • Posted by lakechicagoshores on May 24, 2010 at 10:12 am

      Kylee, I’ll remember to ask my friend who sent me them after dividing her irises – they are definitely striking!

      Reply

    • Posted by lakechicagoshores on June 3, 2010 at 3:57 pm

      Kylee, she said that it was a passalong for her as well, but she thinks it’s either Billionaire or Final Decision from Springhill’s or Beck’s. I never knew that there were so many different colors of iris!

      Reply

  2. LOVE the baptisia. Beautiful photos!

    Reply

  3. the people at the morton arb just love baptisia – and yours looks lovely!

    Reply

  4. Posted by lakechicagoshores on June 3, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    I love the baptisia too, and my neighbor has some of the newer gorgeous hybrids planted. Unfortunately, my white baptisia is still pretty puny – I wonder if it’s harder to grow than the blue species?

    Reply

  5. The Peonies are beautiful. I don’t know why I’ve never added any to my garden. I’m always salivating over them in other people’s gardens when I see them bloom.

    Reply

    • Posted by lakechicagoshores on June 13, 2010 at 5:11 pm

      And they are *so* easy: the only work I ever do on them is cutting off the old blooms, and that only so I can keep a path clear to the raspberry patch.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

