Bloom Day – April 2010

Last day of serviceberry blooms

All sorts of things are in bloom – we’re way ahead of last year:

  • Forsythia
  • Serviceberry ‘Autumn Brilliance’
  • Koreanspice viburnum
  • Purple-leafed sand cherry
  • Hyacinths
  • Muscari
  • Tulips
  • Scilla siberica
  • Yet more celandine poppy
    Celandine poppy (Stylophorum diphyllum)
  • Labrador violet - it spreads
    Labrador violet (Viola labradorica)
  • Marsh marigold (Caltha palustris)
  • Pennsylvania sedge in bloom
    Pennsylvania sedge (Carex pennsylvanica)
  • Dandelions (before I take a Cobrahead to them…)

Blooming soon: crabapples, prairie trillium, lily of the valley, & Virginia bluebells.  Thanks to Carol for getting everyone looking at flowers on Bloom Day!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Ah, spring is finally here! It about killed me to cut off the bloom stalks of some Virginia bluebells I just transplanted here from my daughter’s garden, but they were too wilty in the heat and it had to be done. I have three here started last year, and they’re so tiny still, I don’t think they’ll bloom. They’re one of my favorite spring flowers, and now I’m already looking forward to next spring even though most of this spring is still ahead of us.

    Reply

  2. Spring is finally springing! Yippee! You’re on your way!

    Reply

  3. I think I saw your Celandine poppy last year and admired them and meant to get some seeds for them but forgot. They’re beautiful.

    Also, I’m looking lustily at your violets.

    Reply

    • Posted by lakechicagoshores on April 19, 2010 at 1:27 pm

      If you’re ever in the neighborhood, I’ll dig up a couple of each for you. Particularly the celandine poppy: there’s one growing merrily in the 1 foot wide space between the a/c and the house!

      Reply

  4. Do you let your celandine poppies go to seed? Mine are popping up everywhere, I guess I need to deadshead them so they don’t propogate too much.

    Reply

    • Posted by lakechicagoshores on June 3, 2010 at 3:43 pm

      Yeah, I don’t do too much to them (although some critters like using them as beds so they tend to get a little matted down). If they pop up in places I don’t want them, I just toss them on the compost heap. It’s not terribly “spready” in my yard.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

