More blooms after bloom day

Early daffodils

It’s been relatively mild since the mid-March bloom day, so flowers continue to come up. Rijnveld’s Early Sensation always lives up to its name – the other daffs are barely budding yet.

Volunteer crocus

Crocus planted last fall

Both the big blue and white volunteer crocuses in the backyard and the smaller yellow/violet crocuses I planted last fall in the front yard have emerged.

Return of the scilla

And the scilla are in bloom already, which seems awfully early. With temperatures in the 70s predicted for this week, I don’t know what will be blooming a week from now!

9 responses to this post.

  1. So pretty! I love the vibrant color of early spring blooms.

    We have daffodils and scilla about to burst, but none are open quite yet.

    Of course it won’t last, but I’ll gladly enjoy every 70-degree day we get this early in the season!

    Reply

  2. No daffodils blooming here yet, but soon! Oh, I must get some of those blue scillas!

    Reply

  3. Posted by tp on March 28, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    Love the early bloomers. I’m trying to get some native bulbs establised – Spring Beauty (Claytonia virginica). I forgot to seed last fall. I got some in the ground last week, but I’m sure it’s too late. I’ll try again this fall as soon as the Prairie Moon shipment comes in. Still waiting to see if the delicate Dutchman’s Breeches survived the transplant to the new location.

    Reply

  4. Love the blue scilla! Can they tolerate full sun?

    Reply

  5. You have the same “usual suspects” as I do, except for the squill. I always mean to plant it in fall and then forget. This year, I’m making a list now! Cool seeing you on Jeopardy, by tthe way. I had a feeling Alex had a little bit of a thing for you by how he responded to you versus the others, LOL!

    Reply

  6. Posted by lakechicagoshores on March 29, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    Linda, I’m surprised that your plants are slower than mine – maybe I’m closer to the lake than you are, and that overcomes your being further south?

    Kylee & Amber, scilla is pretty tolerant and (according to the Missouri Botanical Garden) will grow in part shade to full sun.

    tp, I’d love to hear how planting the native spring ephemerals goes for you. I’m planning to put in Jack in the Pulpit this year, but have only thought wistful thoughts about Claytonia and Dutchman’s Breeches.

    Monica, I thought the opposite – that he didn’t think I was as cool as the other contestants. My anecdotes were pretty weak; I didn’t have anything that really fit their format.

    Reply

    • Posted by tp on April 1, 2010 at 1:40 pm

      I have a townhouse – front yard is about 20×10. It’s almost all Illinois native save a miniature rose of some kind, endless summer hydrangea, a few solitary tulips and whatever annuals we add (usually herbs and some impatiens/pansies). D.cucullaria starting to poke out this morn. Did very well last year and seemed to have survived moving to another spot. Hepatica nobilis first to bloom. Anemone patens poking out. Delphinium tricorne planted last fall rising up – should be a spring bloomer. Bloodroot shoots rising. I should post photos. I need to inventory and augment what didn’t survive the winter. Small plot – every plant makes a big difference.

      Not sure the C.virginica seed will sprout after spring planting. If not, I will seed in fall like I should have last year.

      Reply

  7. I have Early Sensation also. It has been blooming for two weeks, even through the snow. I love it and will plant more next fall.

    Eileen

    Reply

  8. Posted by lakechicagoshores on April 1, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    tp, I’ll have to look into which ones of those can tolerate the clay and shade of my yard. Thanks for sharing the names of what you grow and how they are doing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

