Chicago Flower & Garden Show

Chicago Flower Show: mossy waterfall

I went to the Chicago Flower & Garden Show for the first time this past weekend, thanks to Mr. Brown Thumb who got press passes for several garden bloggers.

Chicago Flower Show: invasives to watch for

As a native plant fan, I was compelled to spend much of my time at the “Jeckle & Hyde” prairie restoration, complete with Mr. Hyde’s buckthorn and garlic mustard.  I saw Beth Botts there, but she was deep in conversation so I didn’t interrupt.

Chicago Flower Show: hardscaped stream

While looking at the “Spring Awakening” streams and potagers, I ran into Kylee and her mom from Our Little Acre and just happened to conjure up the mobile number they were looking for (my Spring Fling organizing experience pays off!).

Chicago Flower Show: pondless waterfall

Aquascape had quite a presence at the show, so when I wasn’t looking at prairie plants I looked at all sorts of different water features.

The show was interesting, but I was hoping for more plants and less hardscaping.  I think I needed to stop at the Garfield Park Conservatory on my way to Navy Pier so I could get my fill of greenery before the show.  I definitely did not visit the Fern Room enough this wintertime!

9 responses to this post.

  1. Agreed on the “too much hardscaping”… how many tan retaining wall bricks can one look at in a day? That’s one of the reasons I really liked the Jekyll/Hyde garden, because everything was edged with logs. On my second visit I enjoyed the show more, maybe because I could focus on individual plants and groupings after having seen the big picture already.

    I could use a visit to the fern room myself…

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on March 11, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    Yeah, I’m sure a second visit would have been more enlightening – I think my problem was that I was expecting a conservatory and got a trade show with plants! Now that my expectations have been adjusted, I might enjoy it more.

    Reply

  3. I’m also not wild about hardscaping… always find it so stark and rigid, whereas nature’s boundaries are flowing and natural. I admit I didn’t quite “get” the prairie restoration. Or, I should say, I did get it because I’m really familiar with what it means and what the plants are… but it wasn’t as visually obvious as I would have liked. I know there was signage, but most people just look, don’t read, and it would have been nice to have little signs in the display instead of huge signs around it. Just my opinion. I loved the pet-a-bug display, my fave!

    Reply

    • Posted by lakechicagoshores on March 12, 2010 at 11:57 am

      I missed the pet-a-bug display, darn it! And it probably would have helped my comprehension for them to spell “Jekyll” correctly, too. I didn’t get the literary reference for a couple of days!

      Reply

  4. Sorrry I didn’t get a chance to see you at the show, maybe you’ll come down to the at the end of the month.

    Reply

  5. Hi Rachel,

    It was great to run into you at the show! Always fun to see a familiar face when you’re away from home. I enjoyed our little chat and thanks again for assisting me in meeting up with Shawna when I managed to leave my phone at the hotel.

    And GIRL, why didn’t you tell me you were going to be on Jeopardy!?????? Soooo fun to turn on the show tonight and there you were! Congrats on the win and we’ll be watching again tomorrow night!

    By the way, I linked to this post on my own blog post about attending the show. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Posted by lakechicagoshores on March 16, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    Taping was in mid-December with 5 episodes taped per day. There were reminders on the set that it was mid-March 2010!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

