First bloom of the year!

First snowdrops are up!

The snow has been slowly receding here over the past week.   A couple of the snowdrops I planted last fall wasted no time in popping up as soon as the snow was gone from where they are planted.  They are still rather pale and frail-looking, but any sign of spring is very welcome in early March.

I will post soon about my trip to the Chicago Flower & Garden Show, but seeing a flower in my yard gets precedence over seeing them planted indoors!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Very cool – so nice to see signs of spring! One of these falls when I get around to planting some bulbs, snowdrops are defintely on the short list.

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on March 8, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Linda, I have to force myself to plant bulbs every fall, but I know how much I need to see flowers in the spring. Anything that’s not gray or brown seems so wonderful in March! (But I will admit that I planted a lot more than 2 snowdrops last fall, so the payoff looks pretty puny right now….)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

