A foot of snow and an earthquake

Pond after a foot of snow

Not only did we pick up a foot or so of snow last night, we also had an earthquakeUnlike the last magnitude 5.2 quake, our earthquake indicator – a small action figure of Jean Alesi standing on my framed diploma – did not fall over.  Like the last one, this one didn’t wake me up.  My hypothesis is that the tipping point for M. Alesi is somewhere between a mag 3.8 and a mag 5.2.

There’s no animal prints in such a deep snow, but the previous dusting did leave some interesting ones:

Feral cat tracks

One of the local feral cats jumping up on the fence to visit another yard.

Raccoon tracks?

Check out those little fingers! I’m guessing this is from one of the many raccoons in the area.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I heard it called a snowquake on the news this morning. We slept through it too. A garden blogger in a neighboring suburb felt it though, and woke up.

    It’s a bit sobering realizing one could sleep through something like that. We slept through the last one too, even though neighbors and nearby friends were awakened by the shaking and freight-train-sounding noise.

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on February 11, 2010 at 10:08 am

    Where I am, it was so weak that I’m not surprised that we slept through it. The April 08 quake (the one that actually knocked over the Jean Alesi action figure) should have woken us up, but we’re well trained by the cats to not wake up when they jump on the bed. I’m guessing a quake would have to be closer to 5.5 to really start waking people up.

    Reply

  3. LOL, I have a TON of animal prints in the snow… my favorites are squirrel tails up higher and squirrel paws down lower in the snow. I have so much wildlife, in fact, that they trample down the snow (esp. ducks). No earthquake, though.

    Reply

  4. I am new to blogging and actually enjoyed your site. I am going to bookmark your site and keep checking you out. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

