Bloom Day – November 2009

Calendula in November

The calendula don’t realize how late in the year it is.

This will likely be my last Bloom Day post until March or April 2010. Winter is coming upon us, although November has been much warmer than October so far.  I will definitely be reading all of the Bloom Days at May Dreams Gardens over the winter to get my fill of lovely growing things.

In bloom:

  • petunia
  • calendula
  • Marsh marigold in November

  • marsh marigold (Caltha palustris) – the first to bloom in the spring and the last to bloom in the fall

In fruit:
November raspberries!
raspberry ‘Caroline’, profusely!

7 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve noticed your marsh marigold on previous posts. . . might have to add one to our swale in the spot that never dries out. I just started planting in it this year – put a few lobelia cardinalis slightly upstream in the wet spot. They didn’t bloom this year – hopefully they’ll survive the winter and bloom next year. Marsh marigolds would be nice with the cardinal flowers.

    Those raspberries look delicious!

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on November 16, 2009 at 9:54 am

    It’s not the most gorgeous plant, but it’s a great source of cheery yellow blossoms in early spring and late fall. I think it took a year for my blue lobelia to really start blooming up a storm, but I must say that I’ve never tried cardinal flower.

    Reply

  3. Ha!

    I’ve had some calendula blooming in the garden this past week too. I didn’t know whether I should admire it or laugh at it for being so out of line with everything else.

    Reply

    • Posted by lakechicagoshores on November 23, 2009 at 4:24 pm

      I’ve seen snapdragons and roses blooming around the village as well. Since once they’re all gone, there’s no flowers until mid-March, I’m enjoying their prolonged stay.

      Reply

  4. Excellent article, amazing looking weblog, added it to my favs.

    Reply

  5. Excuse me for commenting offtopic – what WordPress template are you using? It’s looking amazing!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

