Bulb planting day

Lots of crabapples this year

The cold and rainy weather got me feeling as if bulb planting was overdue (more experienced gardeners have told me that I’m overreacting), so I got some bulbs planted in the front yard today: snowdrops and crocus. Since the gas company had to rip up the parkway to put in new pipes on our block, I didn’t have to do quite as much hard digging as in the past. I’m not sure how attractive these bulbs are to the local squirrel and raccoon population: we’ll know come March!

wild geranium's fall colors

The garden gets less and less lush by the day.  We’re definitely having a good tree color year in Chicago, although we haven’t had quite enough dry days to appreciate them.  And the Caroline raspberry is still yielding a few sweet berries – winter is still a few weeks away.

5 responses to this post.

  1. It is cold and rainy here and we almost went out and planted bulbs yesterday. I guess the wet mist kept us from going out. This coming weekend my wife and I will start our bulb planting.

    Reply

    • Posted by lakechicagoshores on October 26, 2009 at 9:17 am

      Oh, that’s been our weather, too, but yesterday there was a little sun so I was compelled to plant. Who knows the next time we’ll have blue sky?

      Reply

  2. It’s always such a good feeling to knock off another gardening project! Hope the critters leave them alone.

    I don’t know what it is about planting bulbs, just can’t get into it this time of year, and end up with regrets in the spring. I did surprise myself and finally plant a few freebie alliums and hardy cyclamens last week. I only had them for like, um, a month.

    Reply

    • Posted by lakechicagoshores on October 29, 2009 at 8:13 pm

      Oh, I know, I just can’t get enthused about bulbs until February, which is just a bit too late! I pretty much forced myself to plant this year, and didn’t spend more than 20 minutes planting. Without the gas company digging up so much of our grass, I might not even have gotten that far.

      Reply

  3. […] Bloom Day post of the year (mid-November) and my first (mid-March).  I can’t wait to see if the snowdrops I planted a couple of months ago come up even before that!   Leave a […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

