Autumn Brilliance

Serviceberry 'Autumn Brilliance' - afternoon

The serviceberry ‘Autumn Brilliance’ is living up to its name today.

Serviceberry 'Autumn Brilliance' - morning

The other cultivars (I assume) I see around are more yellow to light orange; ‘Autumn Brilliance’ has a lot of red and purple in it.

Serviceberry 'Autumn Brilliance' - afternoon

Nothing says fall (or autumn) like a red tree against a blue sky!

3 responses to this post.

  1. It’s really pretty. I love serviceberries. Ours is more orangey-gold. It was already here, and I don’t know if it’s a cultivar or native. It’s my favorite of the shrubs that were here before me. The leaves are coming down pretty fast now with today’s wind and rain.

    Yours is the only ‘Autumn Brilliance’ I’ve seen – looks like an excellent pick with that beautiful fall color.

    Reply

    • Posted by lakechicagoshores on October 23, 2009 at 5:47 am

      I will admit it was the only cultivar at the nursery I bought it at, so I don’t claim any foresight! The clear gold-orange leaves of the other cultivar/species I see around is quite striking, but AB looks good with the deep-red oakleaf hydrangeas.

      Reply

  2. […] They have a nice white spring bloom and awesome red/orange fall color […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

