Bloom Day – October 2009

Grape woodbine by the pond

The grape woodbine doesn’t have a lot of berries left, but it does have a lot of color.

I apologize for neglecting this blog for several weeks.  Not only is the garden not all that inspiring right now (except for the everbearing Caroline raspberries, which continue to be delicious), but I keep putting off taking more photos because I haven’t done anything with the vacation photos I took in mid-September.  But no more: it’s picture time!

In bloom:

    Fall blooms on calendula

  • calendula
  • Volunteer aster

  • volunteer aster that popped up by our patio this year (Aster novae-angliae?)
  • White woodland aster

  • white woodland aster (Aster divaricatus)
  • Marsh marigold blooms spring & fall

  • marsh marigold (Caltha palustris)
  • petunia
  • sedum ‘Autumn Joy’

In fruit:

  • raspberry ‘Caroline’
  • Lots of crabapples this year

  • crabapples
  • grape woodbine (Parthenocissus vitacea)
  • Ripe berries on Solomon's plume

  • Solomon’s plume (Maianthemum racemosum)

And pretty foliage:

    Oakleaf hydrangea in fall

  • oakleaf hydrangea (Hydrangea quercifolia)
8 responses to this post.

  1. very nice blooms, foliage, and fruit. With all the rain lately it’s a wonder there are any blooms left standing. This is the first dry day we’ve had all week in the south ‘burbs.

    Reply

    • Posted by lakechicagoshores on October 19, 2009 at 8:15 am

      And it wasn’t even dry in the near west suburbs – we didn’t get a dry day until Sunday!

      Reply

  2. I’m glad you posted because I think I got grape woodbine. I noticed it start growing in a crack alongside the fence and the parking lot next door. I pulled and cut it down, not knowing what it was and now I have it coming out of my ears. I didn’t recognize it and didn’t know what it was, only that I didn’t plant it or want it. At least I know what it is I’m fighting now.

    ugh!

    Reply

    • Posted by lakechicagoshores on October 19, 2009 at 8:20 am

      Yep, grape woodbine looks just like Virginia creeper, except it has tendrils instead of sticky pads. The good thing about it is that it’s native and heavily used by wildlife for food and shelter; the bad thing is that it grows really fast! It’s not crazy invasive though; if you find the main stem and get it out, it shouldn’t keep popping up like (say) tree of heaven does.

      Reply

      • Thanks for the tip. I was going to pull it this weekend but I noticed it is trying to bloom. So the death sentence has been temporarily suspended.

        Just can’t bring myself to kill anything while it is in bloom.

    • Posted by lakechicagoshores on October 23, 2009 at 5:51 am

      Blooming this late? Maybe you should save the cultivar and market it! Mine has lost most of its leaves and berries, and is looking rather pitiful even before the cold rain that’s falling now.

      Reply

  3. Wonderful photos. Thanks for the tip about Caroline raspberries. I’ve been thinking about adding a few and didn’t have any idea what the best cultivars might be.
    Marnie

    Reply

    • Posted by lakechicagoshores on October 21, 2009 at 11:02 am

      Hi Marnie, thanks for stopping by. I was confused as well about which cultivar to pick, and I ended up just going with the description in the Jung Seed catalog that I liked the most. Since Jung specializes in cultivars for our area, I figured any of theirs would do well. The bunnies ate the Caroline canes down to the ground this spring, but they’re going great guns now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

