Pond gunk and prettier stuff

In my previous post about the annual pond cleanout, I neglected to show the nasty pond gunk that convinced me that it was time to get cracking:

Pond cleanout: gunk from the bottom

Now imagine that you could pull up about 10 times that amount each time you swept a net over the bottom of the pond, and no matter how much you pulled out, the next day there would be even more. It becomes pretty clear that it’s time to clean it out! Now that the cleanout is complete and I’m doing a twice a day bacteria seeding of the biofalls, this was about the worst of it. It’ll keep getting better as it warms up and the bacteria get to work.

Daffodils and hyacinths

Meanwhile, in the rest of the garden, it’s starting to look nice. Not lush, but nice.

Serviceberry ready to bloom

The Autumn Brilliance serviceberry looks like it’s about to bloom, although the buds are photogenic as well.  I missed the short window of blooms last year, but I’m determined to get pictures this year.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I love serviceberry, which I was entirely ignorant of until I visited Saskatoon in 2005! Go figure! (They call is Saskatoon berry, you see.)

    Reply

    • Posted by lakechicagoshores on April 24, 2009 at 8:22 am

      So have you ever tasted it? I’ve heard recently that it’s edible, although I’ve never tried it myself. Maybe I’ll go out there in June and fight the robins for one.

      Reply

  2. I’m not sure what cultivar we have, but we have an beautiful old serviceberry here. I’ve tasted the berries, and they are indded yummy, (when you can beat the birds to them!)

    Ours blooms before leafing out. The blooms don’t last long, but it’s so pretty right now, and gorgeous in the fall.

    Glad you got the pond under control – must have been a big job with all that gunk.

    Reply

    • Posted by lakechicagoshores on April 27, 2009 at 1:10 pm

      Guess I’ll definitely have to sample a berry or two in June! Ours is flowering right now, and amazingly enough, the flowers lasted all weekend long. We’ll see whether they still look nice tonight.

      Honestly, the pond bacteria do most of the work – all that’s needed on the human side of things is to rinse out all the mud and put in fresh bacteria. Now if the goldfish start eating more algae, I’ll really be set.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

