Lazy Urban Composting, Part 5: Not *That* Lazy!

As demonstrated by the dearth of posts in the past year under lazy urban composting, all I’ve done in the past year is to toss stuff on the pile, including a lot of rotten vegetables.  That…was not the best idea I’ve ever had.  I finally dug it out, and there was precious little that had composted down enough to use.  While I banned sticks from my compost pile a while ago, there were a lot of stems and potatoes and other relatively hard objects that survived a year in the pile without doing anything.

So, this year, I’m going to try to chop up anything that’s not a leaf going into the pile.  Cutting back on our CSA subscription should also help, since we really didn’t need it in the middle of summer and would tend to only eat the vegetables we picked out at the farmers market.  And I need to turn it at least once a month, particularly since my definition of turning is “hack at it with a rake for 2 minutes”.  Even a lazy gardener should be able to do that!

2 responses to this post.

  1. I got one of those small black composters at Whole Foods and it fits nice in my small yard. I throw yard waste and food into it and I find that it all decomposes nicely. I also have a “pile” but that’s only for leaves and grass.

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on April 13, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    Rosemarie, is your composter one of the boxy ones, or one of the cylindrical ones? I’ll admit I’m thinking about getting one – the part of the yard between our garage and our neighbor’s is so dark that I may as well put a composter there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

