Chilly Blooms

The garden keeps growing, even though we’re in a chilly spell.

Front yard scilla

The scilla in the front yard look really nice this year. I’m not sure why since we had a hard winter (which should have encouraged squirrels snacking on them), but perhaps they spread last summer when it was nice and moist.

Marsh marigold loves the spring

The marsh marigold (Caltha palustris) is huge this spring. It’s just rooted in the pebbles at the edge of the pond, so it’s amazing that the winter cold didn’t seem to affect it. Then again, it’s a zone 3 plant, so a sheltered backyard in northeast Illinois is probably not a big challenge.

Crocus explosion

Yeah, my photos have been a little crocus heavy, but what else can you do in early spring?

Daffapalooza

The daffodils are also making a good showing. The hyacinths should be out by Bloom Day.

9 responses to this post.

  1. I love Scilla in the lawn. Mine are just starting to seed about there. Thanks for showing your Marsh Marigold. They are so pretty, and there’s no way for me to grow them without installing a pond. Daffodil season is just starting to get underway here too. I don’t think it’s possible to have too many Daffodils.

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on April 8, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    I love the daffs, but I don’t think I’ll plant any more just because I hate dealing with the floppy foliage after they bloom. Crocuses and scilla disappear nicely after they’re done blooming and don’t interfere with my summer garden. (I can’t remember what the hyacinths look like in the summer – hmm, something to look for this summer.)

    Reply

  3. So pretty! Nice to see spring, finally!

    I scattered some scilla bulbs last May after thinning them from a neglected garden I helped restore. They were really tiny bulbs and it wasn’t really the right time to move them. They are tough little plants – they’re back and blooming. There aren’t many of them yet, but those little pops of blue when little else is blooming make me smile.

    Nice to see water again in the pond instead of ice and snow!

    Reply

  4. Posted by lakechicagoshores on April 9, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    I just can’t believe that the forsythia isn’t blooming yet! There are some blooming in other places in Oak Park, but just in protected areas (south side of a brick apartment building, for example). Maybe today’s warmth will get them going in other places….

    Reply

  5. Your Scilla look great naturalizing in the lawn, and the pretty purple crocus really glow. I like the small bulbs too, because the foliage disappears relatively quickly, to make way for the next round of perennials.

    Reply

  6. Posted by lakechicagoshores on April 13, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Yeah, and the purple crocuses even have striped foliage, so it’s very attractive for the short time it’s visible. I love the way the big bulbs’ blooms look, but it’s a pain trying to garden around the foliage in the summer. Everything in my yard is small, so you can’t hide foot-long flopping green leaves!

    Reply

  7. The marsh marigold is pretty – I like seeing the things growing in your pond since I don’t have one!

    Reply

  8. Posted by lakechicagoshores on April 13, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    Honestly, I would recommend a marsh marigold for any dampish place in the yard. A combo of marsh marigold and wild blue flag iris would be about perfect for such a spot.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

