Time to get moving

I did manage to go out and do my “late winter” pruning last weekend.  The local rodents pruned the raspberry (and the mapleleaf viburnum, again) for me, but I chopped down all the Annabelle hydrangeas close to the ground.  My friend the landscaper suggested that I also prune them in May by cutting all the outer stems in half so that they self-stake.

Surfing around the garden blogosphere has reminded me that I should really order my seeds!  Right now, only swiss chard and tat soi are on my list, but I’m sure there’s other hardy things I should be thinking about planting.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I had never heard of pruning them in May – that’s interesting but I know how they flop can sometimes be annoying. Min are planted along the fence so that helps with staking.

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on March 20, 2009 at 11:34 am

    Mine were extremely floppy this past year. I’ll take pics of their May haircut, and you can judge whether it helped them stay upright.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

