Welcome to 2009

Goldfish under ice

The pond is covered in ice, and the goldfish are barely moving in the cold water.  I think the Winter Classic should have had some fish under the ice for that real “pond hockey” feel.

Open water on a chilly day

The stream and waterfall are still open, although I haven’t seen a lot of bird or other animal visitors to it lately.

Sedge in snow

The Pennsylvania sedge fights through a light snowfall to get the faint wintertime sunlight.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Thank you for the pictures. We can all use a little “wintertime sunlight”. hehe. Have a happy New Year.

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on January 1, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    You too, Kevin! I console myself with the thought that I could prune the Annabelles and the raspberries in a month or so…

    Reply

  3. LOL–I don’t think outdoor hockey matches are played on ponds as nice as yours! Happy new year!
    ~ Monica (looking forward to spring fling… is there an official website yet?)

    Reply

  4. Posted by lakechicagoshores on January 4, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    Hi Monica! I don’t think there’s a website yet, but I’ll be sure (along with all the other Chicago area garden bloggers) to post it when we have one.

    Reply

  5. Your garden is beautiful anytime of year! I stumbled upon your site while looking for urban composting stuff. I have 2 pieces of unsolicited info to share.

    I just read (I am studying for my Garden Landscape certificate also) that if you float a couple of rubber balls or pieces of wood in your pond before it freezes that they will take up some of the expansion stress of the ice freezing and they give you a place to periodically break up the ice on your pod.

    And secondly, I also am a lazy urban composter and I think that is the best way.

    My video on food scrap composting: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xL30OHpA8W8&feature=channel_page

    Garden Girls video on a leaf bin: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7oUejMTI34U

    I think you get better results composting food scraps and yard waste separately but that’s as much work as I am willing to do! Viva la lazy compost!

    Reply

  6. Posted by lakechicagoshores on January 12, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    Hi Lisa! The problem with breaking up ice on the pond is that any sharp blows to the ice can actually kill the fish in the pond. So if there’s not already an open hole on the pond (in order to vent the nitrogen put off by decaying plant matter – if you don’t, that could also kill the fish), you need to use hot water or a deicer to open one up. Fortunately, the waterfall stays open almost all year.

    I am way overdue for a lazy urban composting post since I didn’t do anything to my pile last year but throw stuff on it. I’ll dig it out in the spring and post an update.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

