Bloom Day – October 2008

Fall woodbine around the pond

The grape woodbine surrounding the pond is an early color-changer.

I’ve been away from this blog for a while due to work insanity and the autumnal blues.  I don’t have a lot of pics this time (of course it started raining today when I got a free moment), but I do have a report:

In bloom:

  • calendula
  • snapdragons
  • marsh marigold
  • water lily
  • cilantro

In fruit:
Fish peppers are ripe!

  • Fish peppers
  • Caroline raspberry
5 responses to this post.

  1. The photo of the plantings around the pond is lovely. I like the way the plants drape over the rocks, softening the edges. The waterlily is pretty, and the goldfish posed on cue.

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on October 16, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    Thank you! That’s why I have a whole bunch of goldfish – in most pictures of the pond, at least one will decide to be photogenic.

    Reply

  3. That pepper looks almost fake it’s so perfect. I think my peppers are done now. I can’t believe you still have a waterlily blooming.

    Reply

  4. Posted by lakechicagoshores on October 17, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    I haven’t been able to get a good picture of the fish peppers right before they turn red, but they’re purple and striped! The leaves are variegated as well, so this was a good purchase from Seed Savers.

    Reply

  5. I’m kind of very late getting around to see all the bloom day posts this month. That picture of your pond is beautiful, it looks very tranquil.

    Thanks for joining in for bloom day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

