Bloom Day – July 2008

Big leaf aster among the hydrangea

The first sign of fall: a big leaf aster (Aster macrophyllus) blooming among the Annabelle hydrangeas.

Just a quick posting this month – houseguests and work are seriously cutting into my gardening!

In bloom:

  • Phlox ‘Laura’
  • Marsh phlox (Phlox glaberrima)
  • Echinacea purpurea
  • Annabelle hydrangea
  • Oakleaf hydrangea
  • Big leaf aster (Aster macrophyllus)
  • Water lily
  • Lizardtail & pickerel weed in the pond Lizardtail and pickerel weed
  • Various hostas
  • Daylilies
  • Sweet Joe Pye weed (Eupatorium purpureum)Sweet Joe Pye towers over hostas and ferns
  • Snapdragons
  • Thyme
  • Lavender ‘Blue Cushion’

And how’s your midsummer? Oakleaf and Annabelle hydrangea

6 responses to this post.

  1. I love the Hydrangea Aster macrophyllus combo. I really need that Aster. My Phlox ‘Laura’ is no where near ready to bloom. It’s funny how such a short distance can make a big difference. The garden is approaching jungle status, with all this rain.

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on July 16, 2008 at 8:55 am

    Not much of the recent rain has made it as far south as I am, so I’ve had to do a little watering (and pond refilling). I really like both of my native asters: white woodland and big leaf. They’re both very shade tolerant and keep getting bigger each year.

    Reply

  3. everything looks really pretty and so tidy! i’m so mad that i seem to be the only person who has been taken over by bindweed!

    Reply

  4. Posted by lakechicagoshores on July 18, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    Oh, I’ve been pulling out bindweed for years. And I deliberately did not take pictures of the goutweed (a.k.a. bishopsweed or snow-on-the-mountain) that is everywhere I don’t weed regularly.

    Reply

  5. Your gardens look great, but really, an aster bloom already? Soon we will all be chiming in, ‘where did sumer go’.

    Thanks for joining in for bloom day again!

    Reply

  6. Posted by lakechicagoshores on July 19, 2008 at 6:25 am

    I know – and the Rudbeckia are starting to bloom as well. I’m not ready for fall, so perhaps I can just blame a dry June for getting such early flowers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

