Bloom Day – June 2008

The rain obligingly stopped right when I remembered it was bloom day. Or perhaps I only remembered it when I wouldn’t get soaked walking through the garden!

Now ripe:

  • Serviceberries (Amelanchier ‘Autumn Brilliance’)
    Serviceberries - a robin's buffet

Now in bloom:

  • Peonies
  • Corydalis
  • Heuchera ‘Snow Angel’
  • Chives
  • Thyme
    Thyme in bloom
  • Marsh phlox (Phlox glaberrima)
    Marsh phlox
  • Wild iris (Iris shrevei)
    Last wild iris
  • Water lily
    Second water lily of the year
  • American linden
    American Linden flowers
  • Canada anemone (Anemone canadensis)
    Canada anemone

Just starting to bloom:

  • Annabelle hydrangea

    First Annabelle hydrangea blossom

  • Oakleaf hydrangea (Hydrangea quercifolia)
    Oakleaf hydrangea beginning to blossom
9 responses to this post.

  1. I love your pond! Is that a native waterlily? It’s such a pretty thing. Don’t you love the scent of the Linden’s flowers. They don’t look like much, but man does it carry.

    Reply

  2. We have a service berry in our yard and last night the whole family went out and picked the ripe berries to have with our ice cream. We had to dodge the robin’s though…they were dive bombing us 🙂

    Reply

  3. I love that serviceberry. Mine looks like that right now, too. I’ve never seen it fruit so heavily. All your flowers look great.

    Thanks for joining in for bloom day!

    Reply

  4. Posted by lakechicagoshores on June 17, 2008 at 8:19 am

    It’s a hardy waterlily, but it’s probably a hybrid of some sort. My main concern when I got it was being able to handle some shade, which it does magnificently.

    So what do serviceberries taste like? And the robins are monopolizing that tree here, too. Carol, the branches are bowing down under the load even without robins, which is something I’ve never seen before either!

    Reply

  5. Hiya,

    Carol writes that she has never seen it fruit so heavily…….
    I have never seen it fruit AT ALL!!
    Two large trees, lots of flowers, and never ever even a single berry in two decades.
    Pigeons. The eat everything in my garden, and guess what they leave in return..
    Horrible creatures.
    I had no idea these trees were supposed to produce such lovely fruit.

    Again the most wonderfu l pictures. The clarity is amazing.

    The Hydrangea arborescens ‘Annabelle’ doesn’t show any buds yet, but the wood anemones are long since gone over. Strange, the differences between gardens.

    Reply

  6. That water lilly shot is just gorgeous! I scrolled by and then had to go back – the reflection, the perfect bloom and the water drops. And carps too! There’s so much depth in the image. It must be even lovlier in real life. The service berry was fun too.

    Reply

  7. Posted by lakechicagoshores on June 23, 2008 at 10:42 am

    Thanks for visiting! I hope to get some underwater shots of the goldfish soon.

    Reply

  8. Just now getting around to see the Bloom Day posts…having found you via Joco! I have several Serviceberry trees…none ever have berries! Unless I blinked and the birds were there first! I do love both of your hydrangeas…perhaps because they are the only that survive my garden but really aren’t they wonderful!

    Reply

  9. Posted by lakechicagoshores on June 26, 2008 at 9:16 am

    Wow – I’d wonder whether you needed cross-pollination, but not if you have 7 trees! How strange, but I see the same thing with my blackhaw viburnum: lots of flowers, but not a berry to be found.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

