Bloom Day – May 2008

After a very slow start, we’ve caught up with last year’s blooms (although the blackhaw viburnum’s flowers haven’t quite opened yet). The garden is filled with flowers, with even more to come…

  • Shooting star (by RPOP)
    Shooting star (Dodecatheon meadia)
  • Woodland phlox (by RPOP)
    Woodland phlox (Phlox divaricata)- yes, from my “Do not plant” list!
  • Wild geranium by biofalls (by RPOP)
    Wild geranium (Geranium maculatum)
  • Celandine poppy (Stylophorum diphyllum)
  • Marsh marigold (Caltha palustris)
  • Labrador violet (Viola labradorica)
  • Cream violet (Viola striata)
  • Just plain old violets
  • Lilies of the valley
  • Wild ginger (Asarum canadense)
  • Purple-leaf sand cherry (Prunus x cistena)
  • Columbine in part sun (by RPOP)
    Wild columbine (Aquilegia canadensis)
  • Dutchman's pipe flower (by RPOP)
    Dutchman’s pipe (Aristolochia macrophylla) – much happier this spring than it was last spring
  • Prairie trillium (by RPOP)
    Prairie trillium (Trillium recurvatum)

Coming soon: wild hyacinth, Canada anemone, peonies, blackhaw viburnum, and maybe (fingers crossed) American bittersweet. Stay tuned!

9 responses to this post.

  1. Your wild geraniums are blooming already? Ours are just a clump of green so far. That is a beautiful wild columbine. I will have to go read what you don’t like about woodland phlox, it is a delight.

    Does the Dutchman’s pipe bloom over a long period?

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on May 15, 2008 at 10:14 am

    Gloria, the wild geraniums have been blooming for at least a week now – I’m not sure why they’re so enthusiastic this year. I love woodland phlox, but it generally hasn’t loved me, so adding it to my “do not buy” list was just a reminder to wait to see if I can successfully grow any of the plants I already have before buying more.

    Dutchman’s pipe doesn’t bloom for very long. It’s mainly a foliage plant, with its big heart-shaped leaves.

    Reply

  3. I love all your wildflowers, makes for a pretty and delicate looking garden. I have the wild columbine blooming, too.

    Thanks for joining in for bloom day.

    Reply

  4. I can’t believe I’ve never run across your blog b4! We grow a lot of the same wildflowers, but I’ve never even seen Dutchman’s Pipe in person. The flower is kind of freaky in a cool way. I really like your water feature, it looks so fitting with the Wild Geranium.

    Reply

  5. Posted by lakechicagoshores on May 18, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    Thanks! I enjoy your blog a lot – I should move it off of my bookmarks and onto my blogroll, obviously.

    Reply

  6. It’s always nice to see native flowers in someone else’s yard (it helps me with my own native garden). I love that dutchman’s pipe – really cool. And your wild geranium is huge. How old is that plant? Mine is 3 years old and it flowers but it’s not as large.

    Reply

  7. Posted by lakechicagoshores on June 6, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    Hmm – the pond will be 3 years old in August, so I’m guessing I planted those wild geraniums 2 years ago. I think the reason that they’re so huge is that the pond stream is leaking right there (I’ll need to move some rocks to be sure). The only conclusion I can draw from this is that they’re a good plant to put in a wet part of your yard.

    Reply

  8. Hello there,

    MrMcGrDr put me on to your page as I was enquiring after the orange columbine. Very astute of her to remember where she had seen it.

    What a lot of treasures on your patch: we photographed wild flowers in upstate NY a while back and I loved the flowers there. The twinflower (Linnaea borealis?) in particular.

    You are about six weeks behind us in the UK, and seeing pictures of the violets that are nothing but a memory to me now, makes me nostalgic.

    Please, can I persuade you to take some pictures of the others violets you mention?
    I’ve never seen V.striata and labradorica. Pity we can’t exchange seeds, as you are not allowed to receive any from abroad.

    Nice to have met you,
    joco

    Reply

  9. Posted by lakechicagoshores on June 18, 2008 at 7:48 am

    Joco, I do have a rather distant photo of Viola labradorica in an earlier post from this year. Alas, I think we’re too far into summer to see any more flowers from either violet, but the next time I see either one blooming, I will post a close-up photo on my blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

