Rain Garden, now with plants

rain garden

The rain garden I started last summer is finally planted. The plants I put in last fall all came up, and I put in some of my latest Stone Silo shipment as well. If you want to see (nearly all) the plant IDs, click on the image to see my notes. Both the wild hyacinth (Camassia scilloides) and Canada anemone (Anemone canadensis) are about to bloom – I’ll get some closer photographs when they do. I doubt that the Virginia bluebells (to the right) will bloom this year, unfortunately.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Dos this mean these plants like rain? I’ve never seen a rain garden.

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on May 14, 2008 at 7:17 am

    Actually, a rain garden is where you send your downspouts and other runoff (instead of sending it down to the sewers and off to St. Louis). The plants you put in there are ones that like both very wet and fairly dry conditions – basically, plants that grow in natural runoff areas like bog edges and the like.

    A good place to learn more is http://www.raingardennetwork.com/.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

