Stone Silo and a bird

Start unpacking... (by RPOPtream)

I went a bit overboard ordering from Stone Silo this spring – I ended up grabbing at least one of each plant they had that grows in clay and likes at least some shade (and that I don’t already have). The result was two heavy boxes on the porch this week.

Time to plant (by RPOP)

All the plants were big and healthy and packed with care, just like all my previous shipments from Stone Silo. Most of these plants (the Virginia bluebells and white false indigo on the top and the awl-fruited sedge on the bottom, for example) are headed for the rain garden (which I will photograph once we stop having 40 mph winds and heavy rain coming off the lake).

Rose-breasted grosbeak (by RPOPtream)

This rose-breasted grosbeak stopped by the pond for a quick drink. I barely had time to get a shot through the windowpane before he flew away.

5 responses to this post.

  1. the wind blew over my grow racks with all my seedlings that I’ve been working on for weeks and weeds. I’m so bummed.

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on May 12, 2008 at 10:07 am

    Oh no! Were you able to rescue any of the seedlings?

    Reply

  3. i shoved the ice plant seedlings back in the pots but the rest were goners.

    Reply

  4. Posted by lakechicagoshores on May 13, 2008 at 8:41 am

    Yuck – that’s spring for you. A couple of years ago, all the hostas were in tatters due to a hailstorm right about this time of year.

    Reply

  5. […] last summer is finally planted. The plants I put in last fall all came up, and I put in some of my latest Stone Silo shipment as well. If you want to see (nearly all) the plant IDs, click on the image to see my notes. Both […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

