Spring’s Progress

'Bloodgood' Japanese maple

For all the folks that hit my blog looking for the Japanese maple ‘Bloodgood’, here’s mine, just leafing out. It’s right next to a red-twig varigated dogwood, and a forsythia is in the background.

Gigantic celandine poppy

Can I say again how much I like celandine poppies? All of them are already a foot and a half high and covered in yellow flowers. Yeah, I said the same thing last year at this time

American bittersweet leafing out

Both the male and female American bittersweet (Celastrus scandens) vines have leafed out. I’m hoping for flowers this year now that they are a couple of years old.

Shooting star buds

My hopes for shooting star (Dodecatheon meadia) blossoms this year appears to be based in reality. They haven’t bloomed since I planted them a couple of years ago, but it looks like they’re well established enough to pop this year!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Wow your celandine poppy is large. I just discovered I have one (it was labeled as blue cohosh at our native plant sale, so it’s been under a false pseudonym for a while), and I love it. Mine isn’t so large but it’s only 2 years old. I can’t wait to see a pic of your trillium, I just picked up 2 at this years sale.

    As for the japanese maple, I would love to squeeze one in my yard, is that type very large? Would you be able to recommend a small one that would do well here in Chgo?

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on May 2, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    Bloodgood is supposed to get up to 25 feet tall, but I’ve never seen one that big (and it’s a pretty common Japanese maple around Chicago). Ours is growing pretty slowly, but it was only planted 2 years ago. In any case, we picked Bloodgood just because we saw it at a local nursery and liked it, and assumed that anything stocked in a small local place would be hardy.

    Both types of trillium that I’ve planted are up now, but the photos aren’t thrilling me yet. I’ll post something once they bloom.

    Reply

  3. I just saw some at HD today, the bloodgood variety and another smaller variety but it didn’t state a Zone just 0 to -10; I think we’re colder than that. It’s good to know the Bloodgood can survive. I don’t trust HD.

    Reply

  4. Posted by lakechicagoshores on May 9, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    Since the Bloodgood has survived the past two winters without any problem, I’d say it was safe here. Then again, I am only 10 miles from Lake Michigan and it has (unheated) garages on either side of it, so I’m not sure how it would do further inland in an unprotected spot.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

