Missed Photos

Since I’m a point-and-click sort of amateur photographer, I get picky about the light outside before I take a picture.  This bit me in the butt this past week: I saw the “Autumn Brilliance” serviceberry in full bloom near sunset one day, and a day later half the petals had already fallen and it looked pretty ratty.  (The good news, of course, is that this presumably means that there’ll be lots of berries for the birds in June.)  And then sometimes I just get lazy: lilies-of-the-valley poking up through freshly fallen magnolia petals are picturesque, the same thing a day later with wilting, browning petals is just sorta gross.  Time is of the essence in spring, and I seem to have forgotten about that over the interminable wintertime.

I’ll pick myself back up and get some photos up soon: the celandine poppies are huge and covered in yellow flowers, trilliums are about to bloom, and I might even get a shootingstar blossom or two this year.

4 responses to this post.

  1. yikes that sucks! i was going to say next time take the pictures anyway, then take more later if you get better lighting, but I’m sure you’ve already thought of that…

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on April 30, 2008 at 7:59 am

    Yep, Gina, I’ve learned my lesson. Just take the dang photo, and worry later about lighting, downloading it, etc.!

    Reply

  3. […] serviceberry looks like it’s about to bloom, although the buds are photogenic as well.  I missed the short window of blooms last year, but I’m determined to get pictures this year.   Comments […]

    Reply

  4. […] Serviceberry in bloom April 29, 2009 Filed under: Gardening, Natural Science — lakechicagoshores @ 5:26 pm Last year, I didn’t get a picture of the “Autumn Brilliance” serviceberry while it was in bloom, and vowed not to let that happen again. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

