Project Budburst, New Bird, & An Earthquake

I got to enter my first observation at Project Budburst today: the forsythia got its first blossoms overnight. And yesterday I saw what I believe is a hermit thrush for the first time. I didn’t hear it singing; it visited the pond and I identified it by its reddish tail (which it flicked quite a bit, helping the ID) and white eyering. It appears to be a migrant, but I’m going to keep an eye and ear out for it this summer.

Unfortunately, I slept through our earthquake this morning. The last time I was in a magnitude 5+ earthquake, it woke me up, so either I sleep more soundly than I did 20 years ago, or the geological properties of California make earthquakes more noticable than they are in Illinois (with all of our lovely glacial soil).

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tim on July 11, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    Hi, I’m a reportor from the Chicago Tribune writing an article on Project BudBurst. I’d love to talk to you about your contributions to the program, so if you can give me a call, my number is 312-222-5468. Thanks!

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on July 11, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    I was never able to successfully log in to Project BudBurst (I would log in and then I would be asked to log in again whenever I clicked on anything – repeat ad infinitum), so I never contributed anything.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

