No green yet

I went out today to see if there might be any green at all in the yard: a daffodil or scilla coming up, some spring ephemerals starting to grow in the sideyard, or even the grass becoming somewhat less brown. Nothing doing: everything looks just the same as it did after the first killing frost of the fall. So my photo taking session turned into alley cleanup (both garbage from the neighbors who apparently don’t understand the whole keeping the garbage in the bins concept as well as bur-filled weeds that survived all the ice and snow) and pond cleanup. At least the fish look healthy!

I did find a neighbor (not a littering one) who had some small green sprouts that appear to be snowdrops. It seems ludicrous that it’s nearly mid-March and the snowdrops are just now sprouting. To have it pointed out that it’s now cold lake wind season seems to be rubbing it in….

3 responses to this post.

  1. […] [Technorati] Tag results for pond wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt I went out today to see if there might be any green at all in the yard: a daffodil or scilla coming up, some spring ephemerals starting to grow in the sideyard, or even the grass becoming somewhat less brown. Nothing doing: everything looks just the same as it did after the first killing frost of the fall. So my photo taking session turned into alley cleanup (both garbage from the neighbors who apparently don’t understand the whole keeping the garbage in the bins concept as well as bur-filled […]

    Reply

  2. You’re right — it is late this year. I was looking at my journal and I had bulbs coming up in 1 week (will that happen?) I haven’t thought about checking my snowdrops (tomorrow’s to do). Thanks for the reminder!

    Reply

  3. Posted by lakechicagoshores on March 15, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    I did see some about a block away from my house, in a location with a lot of afternoon light and some nice heat-absorbing rocks nearby. My first picture in this blog is of the forsythia in bloom in the end of March….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

