Winter Interest

Oakleaf hydrangea in winter
In fall, I was planning to do all sorts of pictures of plants that had “winter interest”, like the exfoliating bark of an oakleaf hydrangea.  This winter has been a bit too hard (and way too cloudy) for me to actually do this until now.  I suppose I could also snap a picture of the cheery red-stemmed varigated dogwood, but I’d really prefer to take pictures of daffodils coming up.  We’ll see if my wishes will be granted, or if I’ll be reduced to looking for patterns in the copious amounts of squirrel poop in the icy backyard.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by rosemarie on February 23, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    I plan on doing that too because I forget how important winter interest is to gardening … only I haven’t been able to enjoy anything with all the SNOW!

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on February 24, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    Enjoying one’s winter garden is so much easier when winter doesn’t feel like a siege!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

