Winter Piles On

Snow-covered pond
Yes, I did post before about not needing the pond de-icer (the red donut to the left) by late January, but this year is proving me wrong.  I would have never thought that the entire pond would be frozen over and snow-covered in mid-February with more single-digit readings predicted.  Fortunately, today is one of the two sunny days we’ve had so far this February, so it’s considerably less dreary than usual.

According to my fearless Chicago weather chart, the record and average lows only really start warming up the last week of February.  I will comfort myself with the thought that I will probably see the fish in March, and the unending procession of snowfalls (and subsequent shoveling) will have to end sometime.  Last year, there was snow in April, though, so I won’t be putting away the snow shovel any day soon.

Leave a Reply

