So much for the warm weather….

Right after my bloom day post reveling in how late the garden has survived, it went below freezing and a bunch of plants succumbed (the basil went black!). However, the coneflower and snapdragons are still blooming, and the Japanese maple and the mapleleaf viburnum kept their leaves even if the forsythia, magnolia, and American linden dropped them all overnight.

All those leaves made me succumb to an impulse purchase recommended by several local bloggers: an electric leaf vacuum/mulcher. In about a half an hour, all the linden leaves and about a third of the magnolia leaves were turned into some lovely mulch for the backyard beds. If I were a patient person, I would have waited for the leaves to dry up a bit, but it still worked (if messily). Now I’m wondering if this can be used to clean out the gutters….

3 responses to this post.

  1. I’m so glad I wasnt the only person who bought one of these on an impulse! I’m also glad you like yours as much as I like mine.

    About cleaning gutters – the day I bought mine I saw the guy 2 doors down from me cleaning his gutters with one so I’d say YES! Let me know how that goes – I may give it a shot.

    Reply

  2. Now THAT”S what I need! I’ve been driving around collecting bags of leaves from my neighbors’ trash piles. What would they think if I just walked up to their yards and vacuumed up their leaves with my new toy???

    Reply

  3. Posted by lakechicagoshores on November 21, 2007 at 7:25 am

    David, I believe the garden blogger for the Chicago Tribune describes doing just that! She lives in the same town I do, where everyone rakes their leaves out to the curb for the village to pick up.

    Gina, now I just have to figure out how to climb up a 15-foot ladder with that puppy. I was hoping to find some sort of extension where the gutters could be done from the ground, but no luck on that yet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

