More Good Luck with Stone Silo

I mentioned in the spring how happy I was with plants I ordered from Stone Silo. I ordered a few plants this weekend from them, and here’s what greeted me when I got home on Tuesday:

Stone Silo Shipment - still in box

Taken out of the box:

Stone Silo plants

Are these not the happiest little plants you could expect from mail order? I’m used to getting horribly messy boxes with plants that look half-dead when I order native plants online. (Yes, with time and water the scrawny little plants do tend to start looking better, but not always.) Every time I order from Stone Silo, I get very healthy plants that thrive right away, and a minimum of packing material as well. A plastic bag and a bamboo stick are a lot easier to reuse or toss than a pile of wet newspaper or excelsior.

rain garden

Here are the plants (3 Canada anemone [Anemone canadensis] to the left and a sweet black-eyed Susan [Rudbeckia submentosa] to the right) in the new rain garden.

I can’t recommend Stone Silo highly enough for people in the upper Midwest who are looking to buy native plants. They’re building a very nice collection of woodland plants in addition to the prairie ones, so it’s a good place for urban gardeners with a surplus of shade.

6 responses to this post.

  1. I’m so glad you mentioned Stone Silo. After seeing your great review of them, I looked at their site and I think I’ll definately be trying them out!

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on September 27, 2007 at 7:54 am

    Great! I can’t wait to see how you like their plants.

    Reply

  3. That’s some nice looking black dirt!!! Looks like plant heaven!

    Reply

  4. Posted by lakechicagoshores on October 5, 2007 at 7:57 am

    Alas, David, that’s just the bark mulch I’ve put down, although the actual soil isn’t half bad (you can see some of the grayish dirt poking out around the edges of the bed). I was thinking I’d see a lot more of the greasy yellowish clay that I have in the backyard, but it’s fairly crumbly and drains well. It’s probably been sitting under grass for the past 90 years, since the houses on our street were built, whereas the backyard’s been renovated several times.

    Reply

  5. […] the plants were big and healthy and packed with care, just like all my previous shipments from Stone Silo. Most of these plants (the Virginia bluebells and white false indigo on the top and the awl-fruited […]

    Reply

  6. […] rain garden I started last summer is finally planted.  The plants I put in last fall all came up, and I put in some of my latest Stone Silo shipment as well.  If you want to see […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

