Invasion of the Virginia Creeper

I noticed a couple of weeks ago that the Virginia creeper (Parthenocissus quinquefolia) had grown out of control and was starting to climb up the garage siding. I cut down the errant vines and trimmed down the remaining ones on the garage trellis so they weren’t getting close to the siding or to the Dutchman’s pipe vine. I thought that was sufficient….

But then I saw a couple of leaves poking out of the corner of the garage. Further inspection showed several vines snaking up under the bottom of the siding along the whole west side of the garage. Big ones, too – at least as big around as my little finger. Why the creeper is so enthusiastic about growing up into the dark under the siding I don’t know, especially since I’ve spent the past two years trying to get it to grow up a wood fence (in the shade, sure, but not as shady as that!) without any success at all. So I cut all the vines I saw growing up the side of the garage and will patrol for them until we get a freeze. I wasn’t able to pull many of them out from under the siding, but they should dry up and fall out….unless they’re conspiring under there….

3 responses to this post.

  1. It’s amazing how quickly unwanted vines can grow! And they’re sneaky, too…

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on September 10, 2007 at 8:28 pm

    Oh yeah, it’s the sneakiness that’s amazing me – I just wonder how far those vines are climbing between the siding and the walls of the garage….

    I love your blog – thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

  3. […] Virginia creeper (which is actually native woodbine Parthenocissus inserta, I believe, since it has tendrils rather […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

