How to identify a gardener

The pond tour on Sunday was fun – about 50 people came to see our pond and chat. It was strange and wonderful to have the enforced leisure of sitting in the backyard for 8 straight hours. Even though I try not to have an overpacked life, I just don’t ever sit outside in one spot for an entire day. Perhaps I should do it more often!

I also learned how to identify a gardener. They are the people who, within one minute of walking into your backyard ostensibly to check out your pond, say “Oh, oakleaf hydrangeas!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Yep, I think that’s a sure sign of a gardener. No matter what else is around, they see the plants!

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on July 18, 2007 at 5:34 pm

    And not just the common plants either. The gardeners didn’t mention a word about the snapdragons – they all went right for the oakleaf hydrangea, and then generally also asked about the pickerel weed in the pond.

    Reply

  3. […] Purple seems to be the blooming theme of my mid-July garden. The lobelia is starting to bloom, albeit a few days after people visited my garden on the pond tour. […]

    Reply

  4. I am so sorry that I missed the pond tour. I wished I had gone and done it — I may have been one of those “Oakleaf Hydrangea” people!

    Reply

  5. Posted by lakechicagoshores on July 20, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    Rosemarie, I believe that the Chicagoland Pond Tour is still going, albeit in some far-out suburbs. You can visit http://www.chicagolandpondtour.org/ to get maps for the next two weekends. It’s a fun thing to do, even if you only visit a couple of ponds!

    In general, you can find pond tours in your area by googling >area name< pond tour.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

