Bloom Day – July 2007

big leaf aster
Big leaf aster (Aster macrophyllus) peeks out from between the Annabelle hydrangeas

I must admit that I’m writing this the night before since tomorrow is pond tour day!

Still in bloom:

  • marigold “Durango Flame”
  • snapdragons
  • rosemary “Benenden”
  • lavender “Blue Cushion”
  • tomatillo
  • oakleaf and Annabelle hydrangea (starting to turn green and light purple)
  • celandine poppy (!!!)

Promised in June and now delivering:
purple coneflower
The ubiquitous purple coneflower (Echinacea purpurea) in front of the Dutchman’s pipe vine

  • purple coneflower
  • daylilies (just the common orange ones)
  • pickerel weed (but not the water hyacinths yet)

Other new blooms:
Culver's root
Culver’s root (Veronicastrum virginicum)

  • spearmint
  • oregano (Greek and Italian)
  • cilantro
  • cucumber
  • Culver’s root (Veronicastrum virginicum)
  • big leaf aster (Aster macrophyllus)
  • lizardtail (Saururus cernuus – in pond)
  • hosta

Unfortunately, the water lily seems to be taking a break from blooming, and there’s nothing yet from the American bittersweet. Just like my dreams of another White Sox World Series, I think I’ll be waiting for next year!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for participating in Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. I’m not familiar with the big leaf aster, I’ll have to check into that.

    Carol at May Dreams Gardens

    Reply

  2. What a lovely list of blooms you have. I like that aster a lot and cone flowers are always a plus, don’t you think? Such wonderful plants. My blooms are up tooo if you’re interested. 😉

    Reply

  3. Thanks for ID’ing the Culvers Root for me. I spotted some in my garden but didn’t know what it was. Is it a native plant? Does it need sun (mine is in the shade and it looks like it’s not too happy).

    Reply

  4. Posted by lakechicagoshores on July 16, 2007 at 7:26 pm

    Yep, Culver’s Root is a native plant that I’m inordinately fond of. It does get a little floppy in shade, but mine is doing pretty well on the north side of a wooden fence. I believe that Prairie Nursery has some info on it (see my blogroll for a link).

    Reply

  5. Waiting for the next year for a bloom is so hard. I had one bud on my Malaysian Monarch daylily; I watched it daily. It finally “bloomed” on the only rain day we’ve had in weeks. It was washed into a limp state and therefore there wasn’t an opportunity for a picture. Oh well, now there’s something to look forward to.
    I enjoyed your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

