Composting: Part 2 – Nothing to Do

pond, peonies, and bench
My new acacia bench, with peonies and the pond. The compost heap is behind the bench, between the row of arborvitae and the Siberian elm. Pickerel weed (Pontederia cordata) is planted in the bottom of the pond.

I’m continuing to compost not just the eternal amounts of daylilies and goutweed that I keep liberating from the garden beds, but also fruit and vegetable scraps from the kitchen and, recently, some compostable plates from a backyard party. I haven’t dug down in the heap to see if it’s humus yet, but it does keep settling down in a gratifying way that it did not when it was full of branches. I have also been convincing myself that the heap feels warmer than the ground around it. In a week or two, I’ll dig it out and see whether the plates are breaking down, and if I have some lovely compost for my heavy clay soil.

7 responses to this post.

  1. What a beautiful and tranquil setting! It looks like an inviting place to take a book for the afternoon

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on June 6, 2007 at 10:43 am

    It certainly is! It’ll be better once the trumpet creeper climbs up the trellises to the south so I don’t have to dodge the sun, but the sound of the waterfall is so relaxing!

    Reply

  3. Your pond is lovely, I agree. Did you do that yourself?

    Reply

  4. Posted by lakechicagoshores on June 18, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    No, the spouse and I are way too lazy to dig out that much clay. We had the folks at Aquatic Artforms (out in Wheaton or Lisle, I believe) design and install it. Good thing, too – there is no way we would have thought to align the waterfalls with the windows on the back of the house or to install fish caves or any of the tricks a professional installer knows.

    Reply

  5. […] settled much in the past couple of weeks, so I decided to dig it out and see what was going on. The compostable plates are showing signs of breaking down, although perhaps regular paper plates would show the same […]

    Reply

  6. […] compostable plates I put in the pile at the beginning of the summer were completely gone, so I’ll definitely be buying more of those again. There are still too […]

    Reply

  7. Your garden is very beautiful. Keep up the awesome work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

