28 May

Wild blue flag

As I was hoping (but doubting), I’ve gotten a single wild iris bloom. It’s gorgeous! I’m hoping that a little aquatic fertilizer will encourage my other older iris to bloom as well.

I saw my first American redstart near the pond this weekend, too, but I still haven’t seen any cicadas anywhere.

I’ll post soon on the pond and its fishy residents – I made some mistakes this spring, but I’m trying to learn from them.

3 responses to this post.

  1. I didn’t know there was such a thing as a wild iris?! Does it need to live near water? This picture is gorgeous, I’m assuming it’s your yard?

    Reply

  2. Posted by lakechicagoshores on June 4, 2007 at 10:48 am

    Yep, there’s a couple of kinds of wild iris that Prairie Nursery sells. I did a little research, and this particular one (Iris shrevei a.k.a. Iris virginica) is native to NE Illinois.
    The one in the pond hasn’t bloomed yet; this one is outside the pond in a not particularly damp area.

    Reply

  3. […] wild iris […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

