Wild geranium

Last year, I was really disappointed in the wild geranium (Geranium maculatum) plants I put in around the edges of the yard. They came up, but they stayed very small and didn’t bloom.

I should have realized that they are perennials and they might improve with age. Now I know better: they all just sprung up this year to at least 3 times the size they were last year and are covered in blooms. I’m seeing this with other perennials I planted previously, so I’ve learned a lesson here: gardening means patience. Lots of patience.

4 responses to this post.

  1. […] didn’t bloom last year. I was a bit worried, but it bloomed like a champ starting a week ago. Wild geranium Violets Strawberries Lilies of the valley Dutchman’s pipe (Aristolochia macrophylla) – […]

    Reply

  2. […] heuchera (foreground) is in bloom; the wild geranium (top) is still in bloom; the Solomon’s seal (Polygonatum biflorum – upper right) has loads of […]

    Reply

  3. Hi there — your wild geranium looks really nice. I got mine 3 summers ago and it’s already doubled it’s size. I keep wanting to get more, but at the native plant sale I go to every year they get sold out quick. I’m hoping it’ll just reseed. Glad to see there’s another native plant lover out here in the burbs.

    Reply

  4. Posted by lakechicagoshores on June 4, 2007 at 10:46 am

    Thanks, Rosemarie! I got mine online at Prairie Nursery, so that’s an option if you can’t find some locally.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

