Vegetable Garden, Round 2

Last year I planted mesclun and radishes for my early spring vegetable garden. The few surviving radishes were puny, and the only successful leafy greens were the mustard greens (perhaps they were too strong for the rabbits – they were definitely too strong for me).

This year, I’m trying two kinds of Swiss chard. I dug in a small bale of peat moss to loosen up the nasty clay soil in the bed south of the garage before I planted. It’ll be a few days before I know whether they germinated, but I did get a fair amount of pleasure from the size of the chard seed. Unlike lettuce or radish seeds, these guys were huge! If nothing else, I think I got the seed spacing working better this year than last.

Leave a Reply

